Command Window Doesn't enable

The dataTaker DT80M is a 5 channel smart data logger with built in modem for remote internet connectivity

Re: Command Window Doesn't enable

Postby Rudy Gunawan » Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:25 am

That is correct Andrew,

Best regards,
Rudy Gunawan
Rudy Gunawan
Guru
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:28 am

Re: Command Window Doesn't enable

Postby AndrewB153 » Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:05 pm

Hi Rudy

Thank you, unfortunately it doesn't work for me with a simple Python program. I can read the data stream from the DT80M but the command I sent is ignored.

Regards
Andrew
AndrewB153
Beginner
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:32 am

Re: Command Window Doesn't enable

Postby Roger » Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:45 am

Hi Andrew,

Check you are sending the commands to port 7700.
Also check if a password is set on the logger

Cheers

Roger
"Don't Panic"
Douglas Adams HHGTTG
Roger
Guru
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:38 am

Re: Command Window Doesn't enable

Postby AndrewB153 » Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:38 am

Hi Roger

Thank you for your reply.

The port I am connecting to is 7700 and I can get data from the logger. I haven't set a password for the logger, is there a default that i would need to use?

Regards
Andrew
AndrewB153
Beginner
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:32 am

Re: Command Window Doesn't enable

Postby Roger » Tue Feb 27, 2018 6:27 am

Hi Andrew

The default is not to have a password set.

Get yourself a program called wireshark so you can diagnose the TCP/ip packets to see what is wrong


Cheers

Roger
"Don't Panic"
Douglas Adams HHGTTG
Roger
Guru
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:38 am

Re: Command Window Doesn't enable

Postby Roger » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:14 am

Hi Andrew

Just had another thought, are you adding a carriage return / line feed to the command?
It's someting I do automatically so forget to tell people

Cheers

Roger
"Don't Panic"
Douglas Adams HHGTTG
Roger
Guru
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:38 am

Re: Command Window Doesn't enable

Postby AndrewB153 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:47 pm

Hi Roger

I'll try the wireshark program and see what I get, I'll also add a carriage return, that's not something I had included.

Regards
Andrew
AndrewB153
Beginner
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:32 am

Re: Command Window Doesn't enable

Postby Roger » Tue Mar 13, 2018 9:03 pm

Hi Andrew

Yes you send hcrlf that is h carrage return line feed
Also the DT80's are not case sensitive

Cheers

Roger
"Don't Panic"
Douglas Adams HHGTTG
Roger
Guru
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:38 am

Re: Command Window Doesn't enable

Postby AndrewB153 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:27 pm

Hi Roger

Thank you for your reply

I used "g\r" in my program to start the logger and that appeared to work okay. Next problem is running the schedule using a string from my program. I set up a trigger to use "P141" as a string to send on the USB port but I get an error "E122 - Command incompatible with configured port function at line 27 col 56 [MB]SERIAL <err>'P141'. The attached jpg shows the settings I have used. If I select "Serial sensor port" the schedule saves okay but I get an error at the command window. I am using a TCP/IP socket in my Python program, however I get the same error in the deX command window.

Regards
Andrew
Attachments
trigger_setting.jpg
trigger_setting.jpg (39.25 KiB) Viewed 306 times
AndrewB153
Beginner
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:32 am

Re: Command Window Doesn't enable

Postby Roger » Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:04 pm

Hi Andrew

You have set the USB port to receive serial data
You must have it set to command mode for this to work.

Cheers

Roger
"Don't Panic"
Douglas Adams HHGTTG
Roger
Guru
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:38 am

PreviousNext

Return to DT80M

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron